In 1868, on the auspicious Feast of the Annunciation, a groundbreaking ceremony marked the genesis of a legacy. A haven of faith in the heart of Cape Girardeau, Missouri, St. Mary’s Church began its journey, its brick and mortar bearing witness to generations of hope, milestones, and transformations. From the first Mass whispered within its walls to the laughter echoing through its modern classrooms, St. Mary’s story is a tapestry woven with dedication, growth, and unwavering faith. This is not just a chronicle of bricks and mortar, but a narrative of lives touched, families nurtured, and a vibrant community flourishing under the gentle gaze of its spires. So, step inside, and let us lose ourselves in the rich tapestry of St. Mary’s, a testament to the enduring power of faith and community.
- A new school building was added to the 1912 building. The new building added 8 classrooms, a new office space, and more!
- Sr. Jeanne Goessling left St. Mary’s Grade School marking the end of 90 years of having the School Sisters of Notre Dame teaching in the school.
- Carol Strattman was named principal for the 1993-1994 School Year
A gymnasium, parish hall, and kindersgareten were added to the grade school facilities of the parish.
- The St. Mary High School/St. Francis Hospital was demolished in April.
- St. Mary’s became a co-cathedral with St. Agnes Cathedral in Springfield for the new Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau
- Cape Catholic High School opened in September, marking the end of St. Mary’s High School
- The first class of students, 8 of them, graduated from St. Mary’s High School on June 9.
- St. Mary’s purchased old St. Francis Hospital on Sprigg Street to serve as a convent and high school.
- St. Mary’s opened its own high school, serving 75 students
- Four students received their diplomas completing all the grammar school grades at St. Marys. There were 3 School Sisters of Notre Dame and 150 students in the school.
- A new brick grade school building was constructed at a cost of $12,000 just south of the Church. The cornerstone was laid July 7 and completed and blessed October 12.
- The School Sisters of Notre Dame replaced the Sisters of St. Francis, ending their 28 year time of teaching at St. Mary
- The parish contructed its first school building costing, $1,605.88. It contained a meeting room in the basement and two spacious classrooms on the main floor.
- Two Franciscan Sisters were brought in from Germany to teach in the grade school
- The first Mass in the Church was offered February 2
- March 25 The Feast of the Annunciation, ground was broken for the Church. The cornerstone was blessed by the Very Reverend H. Muehlsiepen and laid August 2. Nicholas Gonner and partner Michael Dittlinger designed and built St. Mary’s Church
- Rev. Julius Herde was appointed the first pastor of St. Mary’s and arrived in Cape in August
- Fr. Herde hired Mr. Wolf to teach in a rented room on Broadway, marking the beginning of St. Mary’s grade school
- Caroline M. Ostendorf was the first person baptized in the parish on August 30
- Philip Hohler and Anna Goetz were the first marriage in the Church on October 5